17 Things I Learned While Being 17

I guess this is sort of my first “proper post” so I thought I’d just spare a few moments to share with you what the past year has been like for me, as I’ll be turning 18 soon. I feel like people can grow in such a short amount of time, it’s actually scary sometimes. I’ll be going through my TimeHop and I cringe at things I’ve said perhaps 2 years ago, even a year ago! Which makes me think that I’ll probably be cringing a year from now…

  1. Consistency is key. Whether it’s revising for AS Levels or maintaining friendships, it’s important.
  2. The people who you thought were going to stay in your life, won’t, and the unlikeliest of people will be introduced. Never be afraid to say hello.
  3. It’s okay to be a feminist bitch.
  4. Do not be afraid to dream big, you have the whole world waiting for you in the new few years.
  5. Eliminate toxic people from your life, no matter what it takes.
  6. Waste money on Lush products. It’s totally okay, I promise.
  7. Do not, however, waste your “me” time. It’s precious.
  8. It’s not a crime to fall for the wrong person, just unfortunate.
  9. It’s fine to make impulsive choices sometimes, small or big (I impulsively quit college after 3 days to go back and do my A Levels, I spontaneously ended up choosing A Level subjects without thoroughly thinking it through, but they ended up being the best choices for me. It’s not advisable as it doesn’t work for everyone, but there you go.)
  10. Take lots of photos of your friends.
  11. Never say no to an opportunity. (I’ve totally stepped out my comfort zone this year and I’m so much more confident.)
  12. Stay close with your family and treasure moments spent with them, especially grandparents.
  13. Stay humble.
  14. Getting into political debates is frustrating, but stimulating for the mind!
  15. Never let people get the better of you. Stay feisty. *shifty eyes emoji*
  16. Audrey Hepburn will always be your idol.
  17. Make the next year of your life the best so far. Cherish moments with your pals before you all go off to university, read lots of books, buy more Chanel. Grow. Grow some more.

Leave a comment